Conor Daly Wins Walter Hayes Trophy

At only 16 years of age, Conor Daly won the prestigious Walter Hayes Trophy last weekend to conclude the Team USA Scholarship adventures. The race was held at Silverstone in full wet conditions with over 120 entries at the start of the weekend. The Walter Hayes Trophy, for those that don't know, is the largest Formula Ford race in the world. Daly's victory was a historic moment as an American driver had never won the race.
(photo: http://www.conordaly.net/)

Josef Newgarden, fellow Team USA scholarship driver who had just recently won the Formula Ford Festival, led the race on the opening lap but made a slight error on the wet track enroute to a 14th place finish. American F2000 Championship driver Doug Prendeville was in attendance and finished slightly behind Newgarden in 17th. Irishman Peter Dempsey of Star Mazda fame made a late announcement to run the event in an effort to claim his third consecutive Walter Hayes Trophy. After starting near the back of the field, Dempsey made an impressive run all the way to fourth place and was battling for a podium spot. Josef Newgarden, Conor Daly, and Peter Dempsey all drove for Cliff Dempsey Racing (Peter's father). Even though Peter was unable to claim another win, it was the team's third consecutive victory in the prestigious race.

Josh Fisher finished second behind Daly and Michael Vergers claimed the final step on the podium ahead of Dempsey.

Walter Hayes Trophy November 1st-2nd Full Results

Further Reading on Team USA:
Team USA Blogs
Newgarden Wins Formula Ford Festival

No comments: