Chris Miller Is The 2009 F2000 Champion

Minnesota's Chris Miller claimed the 2009 F2000 Championship title by winning Sunday's race at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course. Miller, who drives for JDC Motorsports, had a tremendous year with dominant performances that earned him the nickname "Mr. Podium". The 20-year-old University of Minnesota student had 4 wins, 7 pole positions, and 9 podiums in 12 starts. Those numbers put him on the podium in 75% of his 2009 races.

Miller spent last season in the F2000 Championship as well, where he finished fourth in the final standings. He plans to compete in the Star Mazda Championship in 2010. He remains a driver to watch.

Early this season, I picked Miller to win the F2000 Championship... followed by Matthew Inge and Remy Audette respectively. It's not often that I get predictions correct, but this time it looks like I was right on the money.

Matthew Inge, who finished runner-up, had a very impressive season, winning 2 races and standing on the podium 7 times. He set the most fast laps (4) of any competitor in the championship.

Canadian Remy Audette finished 3rd in the championship with 1 win and 6 podiums. He started from pole position on three occasions.

Benjamin Searcy won the 2009 F2000 Championship "Rookie of the Year" title. Searcy had a tremendous freshman year with 3 wins and 4 podiums. When Searcy signed with ZSports Midwest last March, I wrote;
This is a decent signing for the Minnesota-based team. With some additional seat-time Searcy should do quite well this season. I fully expect to see him getting faster every weekend.
I hope to see Ben back next season. He was challenging for the title all year long. If he returns for 2010--- he will undoubtedly be a championship favorite.
Here are the 2009 final standings.

(photo: www.chrismillerracing.net)


No comments: